High Performance Big Block Cadillacs
November 20, 2017, 10:07:10 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: SMF - Just Installed!
 
   Home   Help Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: new valve covers  (Read 6174 times)
c20caddy
C2
**
Posts: 23



« on: March 21, 2009, 05:52:53 PM »

 I got some new Mts stuff valve covers and a billet hub balancer assembly. What do you guys think.


* 100_2815_00A.jpg (120.17 KB, 2304x1728 - viewed 347 times.)

* 100_2812_00A.jpg (117.72 KB, 2304x1728 - viewed 277 times.)

* 100_2808_00A.jpg (119.12 KB, 2304x1728 - viewed 288 times.)

* 100_2809_00A.jpg (120.7 KB, 2304x1728 - viewed 323 times.)
Logged

1978 c20 507cad powered
c20caddy
C2
**
Posts: 23



« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2009, 05:59:20 PM »

some pics of pulleys all mts along with alt bracket and every thing alum on engine. Not sure if you can see the hub assembly but it is top shelf.


* 100_2810_00A.jpg (119.31 KB, 2304x1728 - viewed 304 times.)

* 100_2811_00A.jpg (122.87 KB, 2304x1728 - viewed 263 times.)

* 100_2813_00A.jpg (121.38 KB, 2304x1728 - viewed 274 times.)
Logged

1978 c20 507cad powered
~JM~
Shop Keeper
C5
*****
Posts: 1853


« Reply #2 on: March 21, 2009, 07:51:38 PM »

I got some new Mts stuff valve covers and a billet hub balancer assembly. What do you guys think.

I think you need to re-size your pics to no larger than 700 wide so we can see your cool new stuff. Grin

Other than that... Looks great!
Logged

PS. You don't have enough cam. Grin

...Summit has a kit for $99.... Shocked
c20caddy
C2
**
Posts: 23



« Reply #3 on: March 21, 2009, 08:29:19 PM »

Mr JM what would this do i could resize them if you'd like.
Logged

1978 c20 507cad powered
~JM~
Shop Keeper
C5
*****
Posts: 1853


« Reply #4 on: March 22, 2009, 11:34:34 AM »

Mr JM what would this do i could resize them if you'd like.

No need to call me Mr. JM that only confuses me. Cheesy

When you are going through the process of 'Optimizing' your pics. Before you proceed past the 'Compress' operation that brings your pic down to 128k. Remember to look up at the options listed at the top of your Xat window for the 'Transform' option. Click on that & then check the 'Width' option & then type 700 in that area. Leave the 'Height' option unchecked & that should automatically adjust the height to match the width. I also check the 'Sharpen' option & then type 50 in that area. Now if you look towards the upper right hand corner you should see a small square button with 'OFF' written in red. Click that & it should change to 'ON' in blue type. Now you can click on the 'NEXT' button at the bottom & it proceeds to the final 'Optimize' step. The process will usually remember your settings for the next time you use it. For some reason unknown to me, the 'Transform' feature needs to be turned 'ON' each time though.

Selecting a width of 700. Sizes your pic to be the largest width that this forum can display in the window without having to use the Up & Down/Left & Right slider bars to move the pic around so you can see it. Check out the difference between the 2 pics below. Hopefully my explanation is easy to understand & follow. Please send me a PM if there is anything that is unclear.

Thanks
~JM~


* 1X.jpg (120.17 KB, 2304x1728 - viewed 285 times.)

* 1XA.jpg (117.16 KB, 700x525 - viewed 316 times.)
« Last Edit: March 22, 2009, 11:42:06 AM by ~JM~ » Logged

PS. You don't have enough cam. Grin

...Summit has a kit for $99.... Shocked
c20caddy
C2
**
Posts: 23



« Reply #5 on: March 22, 2009, 04:36:16 PM »

JM as always thank you for your assistance and that was well written. I will indeed pay more attention next time. The pics are quite different i see Grin
Logged

1978 c20 507cad powered
ST Dog
C4
****
Posts: 499



« Reply #6 on: March 22, 2009, 04:38:22 PM »

Check out the difference between the 2 pics below. Hopefully my explanation is easy to understand & follow. Please send me a PM if there is anything that is unclear.

Click the thumbnail to show the full size image to see the effect JM is talking about.
Logged

c20caddy
C2
**
Posts: 23



« Reply #7 on: March 22, 2009, 07:04:40 PM »

ahh......now i really see
Logged

1978 c20 507cad powered
~JM~
Shop Keeper
C5
*****
Posts: 1853


« Reply #8 on: March 22, 2009, 07:26:39 PM »

JM as always thank you for your assistance and that was well written. I will indeed pay more attention next time....

I'm glad I was able to help. You have no idea how long it took me to figure out how to work that Xat program at first. Embarrassed Grin  My biggest problem was trying to find the new picture after I re-sized it. Sometimes they'd just disappear & it would take me a half hour or more to find them. Eventually I figured out how to have the new pics returned to the same file they originated from. Embarrassed Shocked Cheesy  I'll bet the guys that are 10-15+ years younger have this stuff down in just minutes. Grin
Logged

PS. You don't have enough cam. Grin

...Summit has a kit for $99.... Shocked
ST Dog
C4
****
Posts: 499



« Reply #9 on: March 22, 2009, 09:35:30 PM »

I'm glad I was able to help. You have no idea how long it took me to figure out how to work that Xat program at first. :

I'll stick with more user friendly programs, like IrfanView. Even with access to high end professional programs like PhotoShop, I still use IrfanView for 95% of my editing. I seldom need the extras that the others offer, and IrfanView loads in 1/10 the time.

None of the "optimize" garbage either.
I prefer to crop, then rezize the image (set new height and width), then save specifying different compression settings.
Of course I've been editing digital images for 15+ years.
Logged

~JM~
Shop Keeper
C5
*****
Posts: 1853


« Reply #10 on: March 22, 2009, 10:05:28 PM »

I didn't find Irfanview to be as easy to operate as Xat. Maybe if I spent some more time with it.

With Xat I can browse & select a batch of 30,40 or more pics. Three steps later, I'm done.
Logged

PS. You don't have enough cam. Grin

...Summit has a kit for $99.... Shocked
ST Dog
C4
****
Posts: 499



« Reply #11 on: March 22, 2009, 10:21:24 PM »

With Xat I can browse & select a batch of 30,40 or more pics. Three steps later, I'm done.

Batch conversion will do rename, file format, crop, resize and a lot of other operations, and dump all the modified files together in a directory you specify.

I don't use it though since I seldom need to do the same thing to many pictures. Usually each need custom cropping and color adjustments.

Logged

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!